ICC Cricket World Cup, 2014/15 news from ESPN

Sunday, May 16, 2010

England are new T20 World champions 2010

Bridgetown (Barbados): Craig Kieswetter struck a sparkling 63 as England were crowned Twenty20 world champions after crushing Australia by seven wickets in the summit clash to win their maiden ICC tournament title here on Sunday.

Kieswetter made the much vaunted Australian bowling attack look like pedestrian with an explosive 49-ball innings which was studded with seven fours and two sixes as England chased down the target of 148 with three overs to spare in the grand finale at the Kensington Oval here.

He was given able support by Kevin Pietersen who made a valuable 31-ball 47 which had four boundaries and a six in it.

The awesome pair brought the hitherto mighty Australians to their knees by stitching 111 runs from just 68 balls for the second wicket to set up the win for England.

Earlier, England produced a clinical bowling performance to restrict Australia to 147 for six, made possible mainly due to David Hussey's 54-ball 59, after Paul Collingwood inserted their Ashes rivals after winning the toss.

By beating Australia in the final today, England won their first ICC event title after finishing runners-up in three 50-over World Cups -- in 1979, 1987 and 1992 -- and Champions Trophy at home in 2004.

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Submit URL

Submit URL Free to Search Engines